Bird Walks at Wellfield

Wellfield Botanic Gardens is many things to many people – and a dynamic, diverse habitat for over 100 bird species throughout the year!

Tree SwallowWhether you’re a world-class birder or curious first-timer exploring a new hobby, Wellfield is an ideal location to walk and easily observe a broad diversity of species due to Wellfield’s various themed gardens and habitat types that attract a wide range of wildlife. We encourage self-guided walks anytime during business hours, but if you’d like a little guidance from an expert in the field, check out our scheduled, guided bird walks.

Join Audubon Society member and Indiana Master Naturalist Mary Kauffmann-Kennel for family-friendly bird walks along Wellfield trails to see and hear the numerous bird species that live and frequent our wonderful habitat. Dress for the weather, wear comfortable walking shoes, bring any bird guide books you have and binoculars (not required). Beginning and experienced birders are welcome. The walk generally lasts about an hour, but could go longer depending on the group. 

Bird Walks are included with Membership or Standard Admission ($8 adults/$4 children ages 3-12). Reciprocal privileges honored. Please REGISTER HERE for upcoming walks (or walk-in registrations are accepted) 

First Saturday Bird Walks (April through September) begin at 8 a.m.

  • Saturday, April 6, 8 a.m.
  • Saturday, May 4, 8 a.m.
  • Saturday, June 1, 8 a.m.
  • Saturday, July 6, 8 a.m.
  • Saturday, August 3, 8 a.m.
  • Saturday, September 7, 8 a.m.

Monday evening Bird Walks (April 8-June 10) begin at 5:30 p.m.

  • Monday, April 8, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, April 15, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, April 22, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, April 29, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, May 6, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, May 13, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, May 20, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, May 27, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, June 3, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, June 10, 5:30 p.m.

For more birding information, events, local knowledge and FUN, check out these resources:

three-ducks

Photos by Emma Wynn


One comment

  1. Pingback: Sensational Summer at Wellfield begins now! « Wellfield Botanic Gardens


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s